Framework Convention for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the Caspian Sea (Tehran Convention)


A Regional Seas Convention for the Caspian Sea. The first legally binding regional agreement signed by all five Caspian littoral States (Republic of Azerbaijan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of Kazakhstan, Russian Federation and Turkmenistan), laying down the general requirements and the institutional mechanism for environmental protection in the Caspian region. It was adopted in 2003 and entered into force in 2006.

Tehran Convention 1

Its biodiversity relevance is that it contains a Protocol for the Conservation of Biological Diversity ("Ashgabat Protocol"). 2